No More Blood To Give.

17 Jan

I went down to my local town hall last night to give blood and was told that because I’ve had cancer, I’ll never be able to donate blood again. This makes me very sad. So much so that I cried in front of the nurse – what a numpty!

On a serious note though, I really am gutted. The nurse said it’s because they don’t yet know how cancer spreads through the body (which is probably why I can’t have a massage for the next 5 years either), so until further research is done on this I can’t donate any more blood.

I have tried to donate blood regularly since I was eligible to do so when I turned 18, and knowing that it’s unlikely that I’ll ever be able to donate again (or get a free Tuc biscuit) is just shit.

Tuc biscuits were my favourite post blood donation snack

Tuc biscuits were my favourite post blood donation snack

Having got the all clear 4 months ago, I was indescribably relieved and ecstatic. So to find that there are still going to be limitations and implications on what I can do due to the fact that I had cancer in the past is hard to accept but something that I’m going to have to learn to deal with in the coming months and years. Just another wee hurdle to jump over.

I’ll just need to ramp up my 10k runs to marathons (choke) and raise more sponsor money instead of giving blood…

If anyone wants to find out more information on giving blood visit the Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service website. The fact that only 5% of the Scottish population give blood, you really are  making a HUGE difference to someone’s life.

4 Responses to “No More Blood To Give.”

  1. Cameron February 8, 2013 at 4:46 AM #

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

    Thanks,

    Cameron

    cameronvsj(at)gmail.com

  2. thebuddster March 30, 2013 at 8:42 PM #

    Hi Lauren! I found your blog while looking for Scots who’d gone over to South Korea to teach English. (I’m applying to do the same now.) I’ve read a couple of your posts now and I’ve found them really interesting. Just want to say “thanks” and I’m sooo happy to hear that you’ve been given the all clear too.
    Take care. Graham. 🙂

    • LiveLauren March 31, 2013 at 8:30 PM #

      Hi Graham, nice to hear from you and thanks for your comment 🙂

      I couldn’t recommend Korea enough – everyone should do it! Have you an idea of whereabouts you want to teach? I was in Daegu – it’s a great city! Give me a shout if you have any more questions – I’d be happy to help!

      Good luck!

      Lauren 😀

Leave a Reply

