Glasgow’s 1st Christmas Parade

24 Nov

A friendly elf

Now I don’t know what I was expecting when I first heard Glasgow was going to have it’s very own Christmas parade this year, with my only prior knowledge of Christmas parades being the iconic Macy’s parade in New York (depicted in movies such as Miracle on 34th Street) I imagined floats, gigantic balloons and marching bands!

Boy was I disappointed.

On Sunday, having persuaded my friend to go and watch it with me, we were patiently waiting among the crowds  for the ‘spectacle’ to start. Waiting in the drizzly rain from 1.30pm, the parade was late in starting. I got bored and left the crowds on Buchanan street and when I returned half an hour later, expecting to see the parade in full swing, it was nowhere to be seen!

Luckily I caught the tail end of it as it headed out from Royal Exchange Square back on to Buchanan Street.

To be fair to Hamley’s (the famous toy store that organised the parade), from the 100 or so participants who took part,  the costumes were brilliant – big, bright and elaborate, they were lively and they interacted with the spectators. But I can’t help thinking that they can do better.

I’m expecting bigger things in 2013!

Christmas tree angels

Larger than life

Hamley’s bear

The Santa Express

Stormtroopers do Christmas

Hamley’s, Glasgow

2 Responses to “Glasgow’s 1st Christmas Parade”

  1. Katrina January 5, 2013 at 6:45 AM #

    Hi Lauren, I have been reading your blog and I am really enjoying it! i was wondering if you could give me any advice on teaching in Korea as I have an interview with a Hagwon on Wednesday in Daegu!!
    As you lived there I was wanted to know if you had heard of the school etc.
    This is a link to my fb as any advice or anything would be fantastic!
    http://www.facebook.com/katrina.kelly.7927
    Hope you are feeling well after everything that has happened.
    Katrina

    • LiveLauren January 7, 2013 at 7:09 PM #

      Hi Katrina – it’s lovely to hear from you!

      I am at work just now, but I will add you on Facebook when I get home tonight and we can talk Korea! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

