The ‘C’ word

18 Jun

I’ve always had the mentality that ‘it’ll never happen to me’, so when I found out yesterday that I have cervical cancer it was earth shattering. I think I’m still in shock. I have a thousand and one questions and thoughts going on in my head that I can’t make sense of yet, I’m gutted and I’m scared.

I need to go home, not because the treatment is bad here, if anything I believe it would be far better than in the UK, but I need my family and my friends now. I’m gutted that I have to leave Korea, I’m not finished here yet, I had so many plans and my tan’s not at its optimum. But at the end of the day my health is number one, so I need to pack up, ship out and head home, get on the battle gear and start kicking cancer’s arse.

It looks like this Korea blog has just turned into a cancer diary… I’ll try limit the depressing posts, I promise.

Kung fu panda – he’s going to help me kick some ass!

10 Responses to “The ‘C’ word”

  1. andstrange June 18, 2012 at 2:08 AM #

    Lauren, oh my God, I’m in shock. I’m so gutted for you that you have to cut your Korea experience short to deal with this but if anyone can beat it, you can.

    Coincidentally, I’ve to go get pre-cancerous cells moved from my cervix tomorrow morning, so though I can’t understand fully what you must be going through, my initial shock at even the mere mention of the ‘c’ word in there was a shock to the system.

    Lauren, well done in being so brave and when you get back to the valley everyone will be your sidekicks in kicking major cancer ass!

    • LiveLauren June 18, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

      Hello, thank you for your kind words. I’m sorry, but I don’t know who this is? I hope everything goes ok tomorrow xxx

      • andstrange June 18, 2012 at 8:29 PM #

        It’s wee Kat sorry. Went this morning and it was a little scary so I can only imagine how you’re feeling but as I said, if anyone can beat it you can! Everyone will rally up behind you when you get home.

        And yes, the positivity thing really does work – a work colleague who got breast cancer watched nothing but comedy films, did all the things she loved, kept healthy etc and is pretty certain this is why she was cleared a year ago. Sounds like you!

        Safe trip home to bonnie Darvel Lauren.

        All my love,
        Wee Kat(hleen) x x

      • LiveLauren June 18, 2012 at 11:40 PM #

        Ah thanks Kat, hope every things ok with you down there 🙂

        I know, i’m so lucky to have a huge big family and lots of friends full of love and support. This wee c has nothing on me! 😛 xx

  2. zen city June 18, 2012 at 2:19 AM #

    you’re healing has soooo much to do with your attitude and it looks like you’re on the right track back to health already. yes, kick ass – but mainly focus on your health rather than the temporary disease. i trust you will do just fine – even if the going gets tough – remember to stay open to the healing energies & prayers that will be sent your way. i’ll start by sending some right now!
    namaste,
    laurie

    • LiveLauren June 18, 2012 at 9:40 AM #

      Thank you very much for your positive thoughts. I just need to get my head in the game and face it head on 🙂

  3. Deva June 18, 2012 at 10:33 AM #

    Lauren, I am so sad to hear this, but am so glad you are ready to kick ass from the get go! I thought I should tell you that my mom beat ovarian cancer – it’s possible this is only a hump in your road. Let me know if there is anything you need, or if you would like to have coffee/dinner/makkeoli before you go – otherwise godspeed and good luck!

    Fighting!

    • LiveLauren June 18, 2012 at 1:24 PM #

      Hi Deeva, that’s fantastic that your mum beat ovarian cancer – I love hearing these stories! Keep’em coming!

      I’ve yet to book my flight – but I reckon i’ll be leaving on Friday. So i’ll send out a text about having dinner/ drinks on Thursday night 🙂

  4. Sharon McLeish June 19, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

    Begbie I will be there with you all the way!! We are gonna kick this big ‘C’s’ ass!! Picked the wrong wolfpack to mess with!!! You will be seeing me on Monday night Meatball!!! Team Meatball gonna destroy this thing!!! Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

