My Korean TV Debut

9 Jun

Whilst downtown one Sunday in February with some friends, nursing a hangover and having lunch in Travelers, a Korean TV programme broadcast on SBS asked us if we would mind being filmed as part of the show…


The programme is about unusual and interesting Koreans, and that week it was about a 76-year-old ajumma (old woman) who left school at 12 and has since taught herself English. All we had to do was chat to her for 5 minutes in English then give our reactions to her speaking ability, all scripted of course. And before we knew it, we had made it on to Korean TV!

Being the shy, introverted person that I am, I told all the teachers and students at school about my starring role and told them all to watch the show at 8pm on Thursday. The kids were all suitably impressed with the new ‘celeb status’ of their teacher, but surprisingly they declined my offer of an autograph…

7 Responses to “My Korean TV Debut”

  1. rememberthefirst June 10, 2012 at 5:49 PM #

    haha very exciting moment for you for sure! I will be heading there in August for a month with work very exciting.

    • LiveLauren June 11, 2012 at 11:11 PM #

      Ha ha yes it was life-changing as you can imagine! 😛

      Are you coming to Daegu specifically? Korea is a great country – full of so many quirks – i’m sure you’ll have a great time! What kind of work do you do?

      • rememberthefirst June 11, 2012 at 11:36 PM #

        Hahaha yes very fun!
        Ohh most likely would only pass through on the way to Busan! I’ll be staying in seoul but will see jeonju, yeosu, busan, and jeju.

        I work for a korean entertainment company based here in Australia that brings kpop artists to Aus for concerts so I’ll be heading over there for some work and also leisure! How have you found teaching? 🙂 What has it been like for you to live there and making friends in Korea?

  2. LiveLauren June 12, 2012 at 12:18 AM #

    Wow that’s an interesting job! So you’ll be aware of the likes of Big Bang and Beast – all my teenage girls I teach are crazy about them!!

    Well in comparison to Seoul and Busan, Daegu doesn’t have that much to offer. But I like it and it’s central, so it’s easy to get to Seoul and Busan in an hour or so.

    Yeh I love the teaching, I’ve had a brilliant time. I couldn’t recommend it enough. It’s also been the quickest year of my life – i’m heading home in 3 months, but then the plan is to head over to Oz for a year or two to travel and work. I’ve family and friends in Brisbane that i’ve been saying i’ll visit for years now! Where abouts are you? Sydney?

  3. rememberthefirst June 12, 2012 at 9:44 AM #

    Hahaha yes, all groups big small indie you name it! *all seeing eye* hahaha

    That’s good that its a nice central location for you 🙂 How did you find adjusting to a different life there? I don’t know if I’d ever have the courage to pack up and move overseas! Thats bravery! I’m excited for my work there, I’m hoping as a fun side project to do some video interviews with some smaller artists for my blog and other pages, maybe your kids might be interested? (The interviews will be in korean haha).

    Ohhh you will love Australia, if you haven’t been before, its such a beautiful country with every single climate in the one place! Rainforest, humid/tropical, desert, cold, snowy etc. Thats likely why I still haven’t left Aus yet for a holiday! Korea being my first trip. I’m based in Melbourne, you will have to visit, there’s lots to do here, and the roads are much better then Sydney! haha.

    All the best with your last 3 months!!!

    • LiveLauren June 12, 2012 at 10:50 PM #

      To be honest, the school and the large foreign teacher community here made it pretty easy to adjust to a new country and culture. My school took care of my accommodation and as soon as I arrived I had a small network of other foreign teacher friends to start me off… so it can’t take much credit for being brave! 😛

      God yeh – I know two of my teenage girls would love that! K-pop is ALL they think, talk and write about! I can’t stand k-pop, but hoping to hear some decent korean indie and rock bands at Jisan Valley Rock festival next month – have you heard of that festival?

      Oh I can’t wait to get to Australia – i’ve been trying to save money for about 4 years now! Yeh I’ll defo visit Melbourne – my plan is to fly into Perth, hire a camper van and work our way around to Brisbane – so I’ll get to see all the big cities! I’m so excited!

      Well if you’re passing by Daegu, give me a shout i’d be delighted to show you about and take you to some music venues!

      There’s a Daegu battle of the bands happening right now – the bands a re a mix of foreign and Korean musicians – maybe you could contact some of them? Here’s the Facebook event page for it: https://www.facebook.com/events/347155608682787/

      • rememberthefirst June 13, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

        Ohh that’s so good, my house mate moved over there with very little contacts and job prospects so that is fantastic you had that support to begin with quite lucky!

        Hahah yes, I would fear for my safety if your students knew what I was up to haha.. It’s such a big thing over there, I figure you either love it or hate it. Especially internationally, it’s crazy just looking at the stats alone for specific topics related to kpop and the traffic I get for them from countries all over the globe!

        Wow… Driving?! Really?! Australia’s huge… allow a couple of months at least if you want to stop at specific places. The big stretch between Perth and Adelaide (Nullarbor http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nullarbor_Plain) is really barren, and well.. not much to see, very long drive! I would honestly suggest flying from perth to Adelaide and then driving the rest of the way, that way everything is closer together and you’ll spend less time going “ohh look there’s a tree up ahead!!” haahh okay its certainly not that bad and the desert/countryside is beautiful and I’m sure if you have been saving for that long, you’ve also had that long to plan and likely know more than I do!

        I honestly don’t know if I will get to stop in Daegu, we will be going from Jeonju straight down to yeosu, then to Busan and then express back to seoul for work (dates off the top of my head are around 8-15), (later we fly to Jeju), I’m there for the whole month though so circumstances could change.

        I have heard of that rock festival you are going to, there’s actually a few big ones coming up over the next few months, a couple in August as well. Thank you for the facebook link I will check it out when I allow myself to log back into facebook once I’ve done my exam study haha.

Leave a Reply

