A letter to my nephew

15 Apr

To my nephew, Harris,

Welcome to the world. You’re now a month old and I haven’t met you yet. Last month was probably the most trying time for me since I’ve been in Korea. The day you arrived, the 13th March, was a bitter-sweet day for me, made worse by the fact that my big bad school didn’t grant me the holidays to come home for your arrival.

Harris Robert Thomas Calder

You won’t know this yet, but I am besotted with your big brother Lyall, and even though I haven’t met you yet, I’m already equally besotted with you. In fact it’ll be hard to hide my favouritism towards you since you’re child number 2, like me.

I was delighted when my mum, your gran Patsy, excitedly alerted me of your safe arrival at a healthy 7lb 8oz, and that your mummy, my big sister, was doing great as well. But the fact that I know I won’t meet you for another 5 months is hard-going.

You won’t even know what Skype is yet, but you’ll know all about it soon enough. Your big brother is a pro-skyper these days! It’s the best invention ever, and it means that I never miss a thing in you and your brother’s short little lives – I just wish you would be awake one of these times when I Skype you.

I hope you’re being a good boy for your mummy and daddy. You have been blessed with a huge family who have nothing but love and adoration for you. You and your big brother are going to grow up to be the best of friends and cause lots of mischief together and I can’t wait to watch you every step of the way.

I can’t wait to meet you, see you in 159 days little man!

All my love,
Auntie Lauren
xxx

He's the little brother

2 Responses to “A letter to my nephew”

  1. Sharon McLeish April 17, 2012 at 6:03 PM #

    Aw, I had a tear in my eye!!! Miss you meatball!! x x x x

    • LiveLauren April 17, 2012 at 8:58 PM #

      Sorry lovely – I didn’t mean to make you greet! xxx

Leave a Reply

