Harder, better, faster, stronger

29 Jan

One of the downsides of teaching at a private school instead of a public school is not having any lengthy vacation time. In total I get 10 vacation days – 8 of which are determined for me and 2 that I can take when I want. I must admit I’m finding this hard to accept especially when compared to my holiday entitlement I had in the UK. And even more so when my friends who teach at public schools here boast about their 6 week-long winter vacations where they are jet setting off to the likes of Thailand, Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan, Vietnam, Cambodia…

However, these lucky people at the public schools aren’t let off that easily. Before they are set free to travel the rest of Asia, they have to endure 2 weeks of camp both in Winter and usually another 4 weeks in Summer. These camps are basically additional study time for the kids during their vacation – as if they don’t work hard enough! But some camps aren’t as strict and I’ve known some teachers to get creative with the kids. A friend recently pointed to one such example on YouTube of a class doing their own version of Daft Punks ‘Harder Better Faster Stronger’ – I don’t know about you, but I was impressed!

Leave a Reply

