Can you tell me how to get to Sesame Street?

12 Oct

I can’t believe I’ve been in Korea for almost a month now – jeez time flies! I’m settling in nicely and adjusting to my new role as an English teacher.

I’ve been teaching for almost three weeks now and I’m glad to say that all the anxiousness I felt before leaving for Korea was all for nothing. The School is well organised and professional and my training has more than prepared me for teaching in this country. My school is a private school (or Hagwon) and is relatively small – only 8 Korean teachers and 2 foreign teachers. We teach both pre-schoolers and elementary level students and there are no more than 12 students to a class with the average being about 6.

Vivian from Y1

Pre-schoolers Birthday Party

The pre-school children are the cutest little kids. They call me Lauren Teacher (or more often ‘Laulen Teacher’ as they struggle to pronounce their ‘r’s’) and if I was to describe the school I would say it is just like an episode of Sesame Street! I teach 6 kids every morning from 9.50 – 11.20 and what a laugh we have. They are so advanced for their age which makes it easier on me and we play lots of games and sing lots of songs – it sure beats interrogating excel sheets on a Monday morning. In saying that I have my first field trip with them next week to a farm to dig sweet potatoes so I may well retract that statement!

The older kids are good fun to teach as well. There are a few that can be annoying – but nothing like kids back in the UK. You can’t help but feel sorry for them when you hear that they have been in Public school all day, then they have to come to English academy or Maths academy or Piano academy or Jump rope academy (skipping) – yes they have an academy for skipping – I didn’t even know it was classed as a sport!

Surprisingly, my accent has been more widely understood than I first expected. Luckily a previous English Teacher was from Aberdeen so the children have been exposed to a Scottish accent in the past. That being said, I still need to slow my speech right down when talking to Koreans and on the many occasion when they are really struggling to understand me I have been known to put on an American accent – sssh don’t tell me dad!

One Response to “Can you tell me how to get to Sesame Street?”

  1. colinstevenadams October 19, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

    Glad to hear you’re getting on spiffingly! Well done :)!

Leave a Reply

