Last stop Daegu!

16 Sep

I’m sitting on the bus from Seoul about an hour and a half away from my final destination of Daegu. My new flatmate should helpfully be meeting me off the bus and then we need to try and lug 45kg of luggage across the city to my new apartment. This will be doubly fun since I ripped the handle clean off my bag when lifting it off the carousel at the airport!

All in all I’ve had a fairly stress-free and uneventful journey. Both flights at Glasgow and Dubai were late in departing by around an hour but that’s about it. I managed to sneak an extra 8kg onto the flight free of charge (thankfully they didn’t weigh my hand luggage!) result! Lauren 1 – Emirates 0.

I almost missed my connecting flight at Dubai as I was too busy lapping up the free wi-fi and playing on my new MacBook – I’m in love! But despite being nearly last on the plane, the flight was near empty and I had a whole row to myself which helped me to sleep most of the way (I’ll kick jet-lags ass!) I did watch one film called ‘All Good Things’ – it was average. On the Glasgow Dubai flight I watched Invictus (which I probably rated higher than I should because I love Nelson Mandela and Morgan Freeman) and I also laughed my head off to Michael McIntyre. In-between the tears folk must’ve thought I was a right crazy!

Nevertheless, I met a Chinese girl on that flight called Tracy (English name). She has just graduated from Glasgow Uni in Accountancy and is now flying home to Beijing to find a job. So we swapped email addresses in case I ever happen to find myself in Beijing.

Incheon airport in Seoul is a BIG airport! It took me nearly an hour to get from the plane, transported to another terminal, through customs and to baggage claim – where you have that inevitable wait to see if your bag does actually turn up. That being said, the airport is easy to navigate and well signposted in English. I had absolutely no problem, Skyping my mum, buying a bus ticket, getting change to call the school and buying some food- and did all of that in about half an hour.

My first food on Korean soil was at Kraze Burgers (it was either that or McDonalds) so being the ‘when in Rome’ kinda girl that I am I dived right in…. and who knows, I could have had my first taste of dog and I don’t even know it!

20110916-215732.jpg

Leave a Reply

