Saddling up!

30 Aug

Departure minus 16 days…

My flight is booked, my visa is on it’s way, I’ve purchased a big ass suitcase and my leaving party is on Saturday… it suddenly feels all the more real.

I’m working my last full week and I’ve already started to say a few good byes… which is proving tougher than expected.

I couldn’t be more excited about what lies ahead for me in South Korea, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous/ apprehensive/ scared/ and daunted by the whole prospect of upping sticks and moving across the world to teach kids who speak a language I don’t know. I just need to keep telling myself that these feelings are natural (right?).

I’ve become increasingly sentimental in the last few months and the thought of having to say good bye to my family and friends here in Scotland is heartbreaking….  I know I’ll be a wreck when it comes to saying goodbye to my dad, my sister and my 6 month old nephew at the airport (my mum has already said she can’t face it – which is understandable considering she broke her heart when I moved away to Uni in Dundee!)

Nevertheless, as a hero of my grampa’s once said: “Courage is being scared to death… and saddling up anyway”.

John Wayne

I better get packing!

Leave a Reply

