TED

7 May

TED is what I named the piece of furniture I designed and made for my final year Degree Show project at Art School.

At art school, wood was always a challenge for me, so for my final project I wanted to take it on and see what I could do with it. In conjunction with that, green design and sustainabiltiy was a buzz word constantly flying around,  I also wanted to get to grips with that.

By combining two different, yet familiar, pieces of household furniture (a table and a bed) I created a multi-functional piece for small living places. From start to finish I ensured that every aspect of the design process and the materials and methods used had minimal effect on the enviroment. From using locally sourced Scottish oak from a sustainable forrest in Fife (www.scottishwood.co.uk) and organic tweed from the Bute Fabrics (www.butefabrics.co.uk) on the Isle of Bute, to designing recycle friendly hinges and beez wax for the finish – every aspect of the ‘Sustainable Cycle’ (Edwin Datschefski) was considered throughout the process

Leave a Reply

